New California Open Door Law Goes Into Effect 2018

Riverside, California - Residents of Riverside County spent 38 months pushing for new regulations that become law January 2018, making it illegal to not open a door for a pedestrian entering any public place that is within a distance of four feet or less from an entrance.   While the law is the first of it's kind in the United States, other states including Arizona, Alabama, and Ohio are already discussing similar policies.   The fine in Riverside is 3 months jail time, which critics of the law declare as harsh.